Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-21-2008, 06:16 PM

79 posts, read 216,039 times

Advertisements

I've seen lots of mention on these threads about Zillow, the Real Estate site that gives a value of a particular home......I feel an urge to speak up.

First of all...in the spirit of full disclosure, I'm a Realtor. My experience with Zillow has been very poor. See....here's the deal. Zillow does not take into account any features, tangible or intangible. They have no way of knowing if a house has.....upgraded granite, fenced yard, new bathroom, premium lot, professional landscaping, etc, etc, etc. They just don't know....how could they?

I have seen value variances of over 25% vs. true market value....that's a lot of money. Sometimes their value is high, sometimes it's low.....just all over the board. I've seen them use comps over 10 miles away, and with a difference in sf of over 50%....it's crazy.

My advice is to NOT use Zillow to get an estimate of your home.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-22-2008, 07:35 AM

6,069 posts, read 14,773,863 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHOMEBOY View Post
I've seen lots of mention on these threads about Zillow, the Real Estate site that gives a value of a particular home......I feel an urge to speak up.