Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-01-2019, 10:39 AM

201 posts, read 199,049 times

Advertisements

I am not a professional real estate investor but very interested in one house in a neighborhood. I know the person living there through a friend. Recently I learnt through the tenant that he will move out and the house will be for sale (since his mother died). The money will then be distributed amongst the children. I like that area and if it is a good deal, I definitely can rent it out for stable income.

My question is: How do people usually go about doing this? The guy living there definitely doesn't know how to deal with it on his end either. I am thinking about this process in my head:

1. Call him and let him know my cash offer

2. Hire an attorney for both of us and work on the title transfer

3. Offer him to close in a week (since there is no loan) and help to move out (Uhaul rental, moving team)

I want to make it compelling so that it is a no brainer.

Do you have any advise? Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-01-2019, 11:14 AM

4,515 posts, read 2,519,632 times
Call your bank and get a proof of funds letter. Make sure you know comps in area so you offer a fair price for both of you. Call him up and tell him you are interested in buying house. Meet with him and make offer. Use a real estate atty for paperwork. Get inspection.

Old 07-01-2019, 12:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spottednikes View Post