Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-17-2023, 05:54 PM

6,885 posts, read 7,890,726 times

Advertisements

And then didn't move for 6 months? I'm a teacher. I'm relocating from Fayetteville to RIchmond VA this summer. I don't yet have a job but there is no reason I won't get hired, I'm 100% confident there will be a position for me. There are current vacancies in my area of certification. I'm moving to be closer to my elderly mother and other family.

I Own my current home in full...it is worth about $175K. RIght now I save appx one third of my monthly income, about $1000 a month and I have $9,000 in my checking account. I've found a home I want to buy in RIchmond for $235K so of course I will have to go back to having a mortgage, but I can live with that. I have 40K in a brokerage account I can use to put a down payment on the new home and move in gradually with my major move being in June when school gets out.

So I would own two houses for about 4 months. I realize this sounds crazy BUT IMHO the market will heat up to the point where a similar house will cost more in June. IS there any way to predict how much more? How do I calculate that?

I'd really hate to let this house go...it checks literally all my boxes. I'm really tempted to drive up this weekend to see it. and maybe put an offer on it (I don't have a realtor in RIchmond yet)

Am I crazy? WWYD?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-17-2023, 06:00 PM

5,978 posts, read 7,377,898 times