U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-07-2010, 06:38 PM

14 posts, read 69,624 times

Advertisements

I have been caring for my father in his home for 3 years. In January, he was hospitalized and was placed in a long term care facility, where he will, unfortunately, remain. He has a mortgage on the current home, but owns the vacant lot next door outright (no liens-never included in mtg.). I do work, and he gets only social security, and soon I will have to pay nursing care. I can no longer afford to keep paying this mortgage, and have had the house and lot listed conventionally since Feb. 2010 with no offers. I am now looking for a possible short sale, and wish to take the spare land off the table. Can I file a regular quit claim deed as his POA and get this asset out from under his name for the lot only? Should I just purchase the lot myself for a small sum? Can I somehow gift it from him to me? It is not worth a lot- I will probably sell it for 8K or so. Any advise would e appreciated!! (Btw- he still has his faculties, and can sign paperwork if necessary. Thanks!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-07-2010, 06:57 PM

8,338 posts, read 21,312,516 times