Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-08-2013, 03:53 PM

5 posts, read 13,786 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I am a new college graduate without any renting experience so bear with me. I emailed an apartment posting and I asked to see the apartment in the next few days. However, the person replied that the last showing was yesterday and that it would be best for me to fill out an application, pay for the first month's rent and have a deposit to the property manager's account because the apartment may not be available when the next showing time comes around.

The whole thing seems a bit fishy as the listing does not have the specific apartment number, just the address of the apartment. Finally, the number was a pinger number so I could not actually reach the person by phone. What should I do in this circumstance? Is this obviously a scam?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-08-2013, 04:12 PM

10,746 posts, read 26,015,105 times
Did you happen to find this on Craig's List? There are a lot of scams for rentals ( and other things) on Craig's List and I believe this is one of them

Why don't you call some local property managers? They will be able to show you their rentals and help you thru the whole rental process. Or you can look at some the corporate owned complexes.

Good luck in your search, just be careful..if it sounds to good to be true it is.

Old 06-08-2013, 04:14 PM

16,235 posts, read 25,211,406 times