U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-26-2015, 05:29 PM

2 posts, read 1,726 times

Advertisements

I am seeking advice for dealing with a troublesome tenant. I have been renting the apartment in NYC to the tenant for 4 years. The least has expired and tenant is on a month-to-month. For the past couple of years, she has been paying her rent late every month (week or two here give or take, paying rent in segments). She claims she has lost her other job and I have been letting it slide (much to my naivety). It has come to a point where she is currently owing rent for the past two months.

She has become infinitely more difficult to work with. I would call to ask about the rent each week and she would start yelling at me, telling me she does not have any money - that her job has not paid her yet and she will call when she does, and telling me to stop harassing her. She is hard to reach over the phone and would hang up if she does not want to talk.

How I can:

1. Obtain the rent money that I am owed
2. Evict tentant from apartment

I have done a lot of reading about the options first sending out a 30 days notice to vacate and then proceeding with holdover processs. However, I read that we cannot accept rent money or else it would void the holdover. Is this true?