Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-03-2015, 09:59 AM

303 posts, read 237,078 times

Advertisements

Looking at a tenant with 3 judgments against them; one from 2010, one from 2011, and one from 2013.

Each one is for about $650.

I'm new to the landlord scene.

Do these judgments mean that they CURRENTLY owe that money to the previous landlord

Could they have paid it off at some point, but the records don't reflect that they are paid off?

These are all from previous apartment complexes; typically does this mean they skipped out on rent or does this imply some sort of property damage?

I will certainly ask this prospective tenant to explain, but would like to hear from some folks on this side of the counter first.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-03-2015, 10:23 AM

8,046 posts, read 28,464,975 times
I would deny this person.

It means that for whatever reason, they've screwed over their 3 of their recent landlords. That isn't just a mistake, it is a pattern.

The credit report should show whether the bills have been paid off. Almost every one I've ever seen has a "high balance" or "original balance" as well as a "current balance".

But regardless of whether they were paid off or not, if they have made the last 3 landlords get judgments, odds are extremely high they will move out owing you money also.