Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-30-2008, 09:14 PM

153 posts, read 932,885 times

Advertisements

I have three Collies (11, 8 and 5 years) and I will have to rent a home for approx 6 months, before buying a house.

So far its been impossible to find any landlord willing to rent to me. Most barely allow one small dog let alone three large ones. I'm a dog trainer by profession so when I say my dogs are trained...I'm not fibbing. They're pretty much push button when it comes to commands and have no behavior issues. However, even that doesn't seem to make a difference. I've had landlords hang up on me once I tell them I have dogs, never return my calls or emails, and one laughed at me. Loudly.

I found this insurance for pet owners who rent which basically covers up to $700 worth of damage if anything should happen. Nothing will happen, but apparently no one believes me so I'm wondering if this would make a difference?

Pet Insurance for renters , PetCare Pet Insurance

Landlords, would you consider renting to someone like me if they carried this insurance? If they prepaid for it for however many months they rented from you?

I just don't know what else to do, I'm only contacting private landlords since I'd have a snowball's chance in Hell of getting accepted into an apartment. If I can't find a rental then I can't move since I refuse to give up my dogs.