Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-23-2015, 11:24 AM

9 posts, read 43,414 times

Advertisements

Hi there,

I have been renting a small condo for almost 3 months now. There have been a lot of problems (mainly, sewage backing up into the kitchen sinks, A/C flooding the hallway multiple times). Additionally, there's a strong rotten egg smell in the hall bathroom that comes and goes. The property manager has been very good about taking care of things so far, althoughI've been told by the workers that the problems above are likely to happen again at some time, because there seems to be drainage/plumbing issues causing them.

I am concerned about the sewage smell in the bathroom. So I emailed the landlord with this issue, and his response was that he asked the HOA manager to call me (which hasn't happened yet). I have done my research and am aware of the dangers of methane and hydrogen sulfide in sewer gases. Although it may not be related (or it may - who knows?), me and my two children (6 and 2 years old) have been sick with a respiratory illness (bad cough, in my case - coughing up fluid in lungs, no fevers, running nose, and irritated eyes) for 4 weeks. I started staying with my parents a week ago now, and our symptoms have gone away.