Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-30-2017, 04:55 PM

60 posts, read 289,687 times

Advertisements

I have no experience with paying my rent late, but I'm trying to help my parents. They have lived in an apartment about 3 years now. They consistently are late with the rent and pay the rent plus the rental fee just about every month. The lease is month to month and has been since the first yearly lease expired.

This month they called me in a panic because they could not pay the rent. I told them to call the property management office and let them know the situation. I did not expect them to be sympathetic, but I think it's important to communicate. The office said that since the rent will be over 30 days late, there will be an additional $300 attorney (plus a late fee).

Is this common? I have asked for a copy of the lease from my parents just to see if it is mentioned, but I'm not sure how to handle this situation. Seeing being late is already an issue, I could see the attorney fee issue leading to an eviction eventually.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. I know the property management company has to be stern with non-payment and late payments, but I do want to be sure what they say is proper.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-30-2017, 04:58 PM

106,668 posts, read 108,810,853 times
what does the lease say about late fees ? if they agreed and it is not against local laws than it is what it is .