U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Renting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-09-2008, 02:56 PM

542 posts, read 1,837,127 times

Advertisements

If a renter has what's considered vicious dog (pit bulls) and they bite someone. Can the owner of the property be sued??
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-09-2008, 03:19 PM

3,646 posts, read 9,971,318 times
Great Question, and perhaps in a few hundred years we will have definitive case law to support a definite answer.

I am not a lawyer, but I have stayed at a Holiday Inn and watch a lot of Judge Judy and similar ilk. Disclosures out of the way, let us begin.

I would expect that if the property is unfenced, or has a fence that is in disprepair and the owner is aware that a potentially dangerous animal is in residence that a good case could be made that the owner's inaction contributed to any injuries and thus the owner could be considered negligent or at least contributory to the incident.