Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Sacramento
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-31-2014, 11:22 AM

3 posts, read 5,489 times

Advertisements

Hello,

I currently live in a suburb of Phoenix and I have lived here my whole life. I am 26 years old and I have been working in the veterinary field for the last four years. I am engagaed and we just want to get the hell out of Arizona. I have this bug up my butt to just pack up our three dogs and drive somewhere but I am so scared that I won't be able to make it.

Is there affordable housing in northern california. I would love a change of scenery. I have had my fair share of cacti and desert. :-)

I don't mind picking up any job or two jobs to make this happen. Rent would ideally stay below $800/month. I just want a change.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-31-2014, 11:34 AM

2,963 posts, read 6,265,611 times
For $800/month maybe you should consider moving to Kentucky.

Old 07-31-2014, 11:35 AM

774 posts, read 1,858,215 times
Default Hot!

You sure like hot places.
There's some pretty places in Sacramento ... but I've never lived there. Traveled through and to fairly often. There's a lot of farming and ranching around Sacramento... so you'd probably find work no problem. (That means your salary would adjust.)

Have you thought about Redding or Oreville, CA?
Like any big move, I'd suggest you move there and rent for a while before buying. Give yourself a year (six months at the least) to drive around the area and check things out.