U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Sacramento
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-04-2018, 12:50 PM

17 posts, read 10,440 times

Advertisements

Hello,

Been out of the tech world for 18 years due to a disability and now back in with an A+ Certification and an Associates in Network Administration... but after hunting for computer repair or tech support work for four years I still can't find a single job in this whole county! Everyone turns me down saying I have no recent experience.

How do you even get experience with no job?

Anyone have experience with Hello Tech? I'm considering that now as a last ditch move.

LOL and they're saying there are jobs everywhere...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-04-2018, 01:26 PM

4,611 posts, read 8,396,439 times
Are you middle aged or somewhere around there? Tech jobs are for the young, foreign, and cheap. If you belong to one of the protected classes, apply for a government job.

Old 10-04-2018, 01:40 PM

4,625 posts, read 4,699,512 times
Alot has changed in tech in the last 5 years let alone the last 18. The days of "computer repair" are in the past, that term alone makes you sound like your from the 90's.

You may need to start at the bottom doing desktop support and work your way up again.

Old 10-04-2018, 01:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by malcorub16 View Post
Alot has changed in tech in the last 5 years let alone the last 18. The days of "computer repair" are in the past, that term alone makes you sound like your from the 90's.