U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Sacramento
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-25-2008, 06:41 AM

4 posts, read 7,771 times

Advertisements

My husband and I are planning a move to either Cincinnati OH or Sacramento CA. Cincinnati we have family there, but don't really want to move there. We were in the Folsom area in March and fell in love. He is a senior unix administrator. I have read that it is extremely hard to get a job in the Sacramento area. Is this true? I am a nurse and I don't think I will have much trouble finding a job - please correct me if I am wrong. Any suggestions on relocating and job searching would be SOOOOOO great!!! Thanks in advance!!!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-25-2008, 10:51 AM

8,405 posts, read 15,344,494 times
A nurse won't have a job working anywhere. There are a bunch of hospital expansions going on in the central city: UC Davis, Mercy and Sutter all have multiple complexes. A skilled IT person who can market their skills can find work, but it doesn't pay as high as, say, the Bay Area (but, of course, the cost of living is much lower here.)

It's not extremely hard to get work here, no more than anywhere else these days. Getting work with the state is tough right now due to the hiring freeze, and the state is a major employer in Sacramento, but other than that people are still hiring, if you're competent you can get work.

Old 08-25-2008, 05:38 PM

1,297 posts, read 4,278,431 times