Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Utah > Salt Lake City area
 [Register]
Salt Lake City area Salt Lake County - Davis County - Weber County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-04-2012, 02:47 AM

15 posts, read 89,117 times

Advertisements

Hey all, I have about 30 grand saved up and was thinking of buying a house in salt lake city. BTW, I don't make much annually. Some of the houses it seems I can afford and pay off comfortably seems to be in the 50-100 grand range. But I have no experience in buying houses, and cheap can mean a bad disaster. Can anyone steer me in the right direction?

Maybe a better idea to get a condo instead? Would west valley be a good neighborhood to live in?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-04-2012, 06:15 AM

15,946 posts, read 12,293,021 times
I would never buy a condo or side by side unless I was nearing or at retirement. I'll never understand the interest. I'd rather rent an apartment. Cheaper unless you're going to keep the condo 10 years or more.

Buy a house, if you are going to live in it 4-5 years or more. If not, rent something.

Old 10-04-2012, 08:51 AM

19,855 posts, read 65,841,371 times
Not sure I would want any area that cheap. Acceptable ones start more like $200K I think. Parts of WVC are OK, much is not.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

Realtors are welcome here but do see our Realtor Advice to avoid infractions.

Old 10-04-2012, 09:29 AM

1,961 posts, read 4,385,931 times