Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-12-2014, 03:47 PM

1 posts, read 2,979 times

Advertisements

Hi,
I'm new to this, but I need some help! The apts I live in are making me and other tenants sick. I know, I know, I can move but I'm not able to right now. I've called every dept with the city as well as FOIA for each dept on this property because I know something is terribly wrong here. They spray over mold instead of remediating it properly, the ventilation system doesn't work, and the AC is run on a "swamp cooler" which is also not working (causes Legionnaires Disease). Then I find out yesterday that the property was supposedly "condemned" approx. 20 yrs ago, it sat vacant for 9-10 yrs.

Questions: does anyone know how I could find out if
(1) the property was actually condemned, even if it was over 20 yrs ago. The current owners have only owned it approx. 9 - 10 yrs. I've tried code compliance to no avail. Hell, they don't even know what to look for when the DO COME OUT. They act as if they'll do anything for the landlord, even make tenants sick.
(2) What department within the city would condemn a property.

And any info or help you can give me to help with this hell hole place. It is dangerous, even though when you drive by or up to the place it looks good, then you find all of these leaks, mold, and a host of other issues.