U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > San Antonio
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-13-2009, 11:31 AM

10 posts, read 103,777 times

Advertisements

Hello,
I am new to this forum and wanted to get anybody's insight about the differences in teaching high school vs. middle school in San Antonio, TX. I will be doing the alternative certification program through UTSA, and i hold a Bachelor's degree in civil engineering. I passed the test for 4-8 math, but I don't know if I should take the 9-12 or if I should stick to teaching middle school since I don't have any experience??? Current teachers I would love to hear your advice!
Thanks
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-13-2009, 12:02 PM

16,027 posts, read 22,076,867 times
My dad is an engineer,
for some time he took a job as a high school teacher in Central Florida for about 1 year.
From the little that he told me... it sucks.
I guess kids around that age tend to think that they are adults but still act like little kids.

Only thing I recommend you,
try to make the class a little fun (as difficult as that might be)
and always be willing to spend extra time with students that have a hard time understanding, because if they fall behind, they are gonna make it harder for you to teach when they are not paying attention at all.

Old 03-13-2009, 01:29 PM

8,926 posts, read 11,061,762 times
I linked to Question for job searching SA teachers... last time. Read that thread. It's general about teaching in San Antonio, but it's the mother of all teaching threads in the SA forum.