Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Diego
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-06-2011, 03:28 PM

1 posts, read 40,595 times

Advertisements

Hello everybody,

I'm a international student who is studying in SanDiego.

I passed paper test in LA, and I live in SD right now. I'm looking for someone can teach me how to drive, but the price is a little higher than I expect. Can someone tell me some driving school is cheapper?

My friend in Michigan can buy a car when he didn't have drive license, so I wonder if it's availabel in CA? If I can, I prefer to pay the money for a car rather than for driving tuition.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-06-2011, 04:46 PM

4,498 posts, read 9,382,328 times
No, I don't think so. I recently bought a new car and I couldn't add my wife on to the insurance. She had an international driver's license but they wouldn't allow me to add her on until she got a USA driver's license.

Also, she recently ordered a new BMW a few weeks ago and it's coming in a few weeks. They said she couldn't pick it up until she had a Driver's license. There may be ways around this but it didn't sound like it.

The dealerships both said we had to show proof of insurance and both insurance companies we talked to said they wouldn't add her on until she got a USA driver's license so I don't think you can do it.