Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Diego
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-13-2012, 02:49 AM

7 posts, read 41,128 times

Advertisements

Dear all,

I'm an early career researcher from Austria and have recently been offered a postdoc position at UCSD. Depending on when our visa application process will be completed, my girlfriend (future wife) and myself will be moving to San Diego in January or February next year. And we're much looking forward to our adventure

As I have no idea about life and living costs in California (or the US in general), I was hoping that you could provide me with some startup information.

(1) Will my income (expected 40-44 k/year) be enough to maintain us both? We're not eager for luxury, just a modest life (1-br apartment in a decent area, economical car, healthy / organic food, maybe cinema or dinner 1-2 times/month).

(2) What net income may I expect per month? As I understand it, health insurance for both of us will, for the most part, be covered by my university. But what about taxes and further dues?

(3) My department is situated in 3510 Dunhill Street which is somewhere north of the city center (La Jolla, I guess). In which parts of the city would you suggest we start searching for apartments and how much, approximately, do we need to budget for housing?

Many thanks for your help!
Robert
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-13-2012, 08:56 AM

1,471 posts, read 3,327,423 times