U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Diego
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-19-2016, 09:09 AM

19 posts, read 21,902 times

Advertisements

Posted this in the L.A forum as well, but figured I would check here to see what you guys thought.

Lived in the san Fernando valley when I was younger but have now been in Austin for several years. I ended up moving out here for work and have since started a family.

We are potentially looking to move back to CA, and I was curious what y'all think would be a reasonable salary in order to live comfortably in the San Diego area? 90k, 100k, 120k? I work in tech, so those salaries aren't unimaginable, however I am wondering if that amount will buy a decent life for a family of four.

By decent I mean at some point potentially being able to own a home in a neighborhood with decent schools (with a large down payment I assume), ability to still contribute to 401k, IRA, etc and able to go out on family outings without having to worry about how to pay the mortgage next month. Thanks for the replies.
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message

Old 09-19-2016, 10:02 AM

8,404 posts, read 9,070,321 times
The more the better.
120k would the best imo

Old 09-19-2016, 10:31 AM
4SR

75 posts, read 88,796 times