Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Diego
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-08-2017, 11:34 PM
EA EA started this thread

6,791 posts, read 7,111,747 times

Advertisements

I am considering a move to San Diego. I'm a union carpenter so I have jobs lined up. I also drive for Lyft/Uber. I also do automotive fabrication out of my garage. Between construction and Lyft I do a minimum of 75k. Is that enough to live ok over there? I don't expect to get into a nice house or anything like that, but a lower end house with an attached garage in an ok neighborhood. I don't drink, go out, party, or anything like that.

I am going with my bottom pay just because I like to live below my means as much as I can. Full time a union carpenter does 100k.
A full time lyft driver can pull 80k.

I don't know about the fabrication side over there, if it's like here, another 20-30k in side money.
But I'd prefer to live like I make 75k. 75k puts me at about 300k for a house. I've seen some there for that. I prefer fixer uppers (I am a carpenter) I can fix anything inside and out.

I'm just kind of tired of Vegas. Everything is a hustle here. it's hectic and hot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-09-2017, 12:02 AM

8,390 posts, read 7,636,449 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by EA View Post