U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Diego
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-27-2021, 05:10 PM

63 posts, read 37,824 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I finally got the courage to make the move from Chicago to San Diego! I’ve looked online at apartments and it’s definitely discouraging with the price range only really because I am not an employee right now. I am a professional, a senior quality manager, but I have been unemployed since 2018-I left my job because my daughter needed medical treatment and then 24/7 care For almost a year. After that Covid hit and since then I have not been able to get back into my career. Living in San Diego has been my dream for over 10 years, my kids are finally old enough and they want to move as well so I am selling my house and coming out there with my kids in the next month.

It’s definitely scary not having a job and making the move, but I do have money I’ve saved which can get me through the next six months but I would rather land a position and also find a place for the three of us that’s not $2700 a month.

Please let me know if you have any suggestions of where I can live and if there are resources I should be looking into outside of just the standard online apartment hunting sites, and anything related to jobhunting there. My firsts priority is finding a decent place in a safe area with a good high school, that doesn’t kill my savings.

Thank you in advance for your guidance and assistance or just encouragement!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-27-2021, 10:42 PM