U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Diego
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-24-2007, 01:58 PM

8 posts, read 21,358 times

Advertisements

My wife and I are considering moving to the area north of SD. Near or around Carlsbad (where the job is)

I am a Systems admin & will be earning 80-95k & my wife is a ICU Nurse (she does not know what she would earn there but a guess is 70K)

Where are some good areas to live in driving distance to Carlsbad & will we be able to afford to live there at all we have 2 kids as well.

Thanks
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-24-2007, 06:34 PM

1,078 posts, read 3,588,133 times
You can actually afford Carlsbad. South Oceanside is nice as well.
Avoid anything off of the 78 freeway as it can be a real nightmare.
MBG

Old 04-24-2007, 07:46 PM

Good to hear. I have heard costs in CA were crazy and we would have to live in a shack or somthing. lol

Old 04-24-2007, 08:26 PM

8,496 posts, read 27,475,033 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by EITadmin View Post
Good to hear. I have heard costs in CA were crazy and we would have to live in a shack or somthing. lol
You'll have your pick of SD's best areas, but since you will be working in Carlsbad you'll probably want to stay close by. Your money will go a lot farther in Carlsbad than it will in the older, closer-in coastal areas.