Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Diego
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-21-2010, 05:13 PM

42 posts, read 89,797 times

Advertisements

I've lived in MA for my entire life. As others in my area have already stated, I'm tired of the rain, snow, cold, flooding and constant overcast. I'm also bored of the city and need a change.

I'm a single working professional in my late 20's. I work in IT and I make around six figures. I also have about 100k in available savings and own no property at this time. I assumed I could easily move to SD and afford it. It looks like I assumed wrong. The housing prices seem even more ridiculous than in Boston, with little to no job market to support it. It doesn't even seem like you could purchase a semi-decent condo for under 250k. How the heck do San Diegans still manage to afford their wonderful city? Everyone must be a millionaire or in an incredible amount of debt.

In Boston, it seems like people with my skillset are in high demand. In SD, it seems like the demand is fairly low and the pay isn't exactly enticing. I guess there's a cost that comes with the weather.

So tell me the good and bad things about San Diego. Also, where do you think I should live? I'd like to live in a safe area that also has the conveniences of daily life. Is renting as bad as buying right now?

Lay it on me San Diegans. Feel free to smack me back into reality. Don't worry, I'm from Boston, I have a thick skin.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-21-2010, 06:18 PM

686 posts, read 1,134,485 times