Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Francisco - Oakland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-19-2010, 12:00 PM

77 posts, read 339,911 times

Advertisements

I have a Bachelor's degree in engineering and 3 years of work experience in the IT field as a Database Administrator. I am currently out of a job looking to go back to school to get my Master's degree.

I am looking for schools that offer a Master's degree in the field of Information Systems and I have come up with the below two schools that offer this program:

1) University of San Francisco, Cupertino Campus
2) Santa Clara University, Santa Clara

Can anybody tell me how these schools are in terms of reputation, quality of education, costs and most importantly future job opportunities?

The next two schools I am interested in do not offer the MSIS program. The closest degree they offer is Master of Science in Engineering Management. These schools are:

3) San Jose Sate University
4) California State University, East Bay

Can anybody who is familiar with the Bay Area schools and are in tune with the companies and job market give me the pros and cons of getting a Master's degree in Information Systems vs. Engineering Management. Also how do the 4 schools compare with each other?

Does one degree or one particular school offer me better opportunities in the long term?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-19-2010, 02:47 PM

6,825 posts, read 9,064,782 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by saintforlife View Post