U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Francisco - Oakland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-13-2011, 08:21 PM

1,212 posts, read 1,427,149 times

Advertisements

Ok...so I am a Young Professional working in the Biotech industry as an analyst and am currently in the DC area. I think living here is OK but I have fallen in love (literally) with California and its people and desperately want to move to SF or LA. What do you people think are some of the differences between DC, SF and LA? Am I expecting a culture shock moving from DC?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-13-2011, 08:54 PM

5,921 posts, read 7,257,041 times
I spent a lot of my youth growing up outside DC (Fairfax County) and I have to say that the DC area has wayyyyy more in common with LA than SF and the Bay Area. Politics and Hollywood are actually pretty similar. If you're into flashy cars and ostentatiousness, LA is probably much less of a culture shock than SF. The Bay Area has its fair share of snobby and pretentious people, but in my experience it tends to be more concentrated to a few areas instead of being more widespread.

DC has its charms (great nightlife, awesome museums, beautiful architecture), but I would never move back there- especially NOVA. In fact, I always hate coming home to visit my parents in NOVA because it reminds me of the worst aspects of LA, coupled with terrible weather and no beaches.

Old 10-13-2011, 10:07 PM
hsw

2,144 posts, read 6,702,959 times