Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Francisco - Oakland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-08-2013, 12:44 PM

3 posts, read 4,766 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone -

New job offer in walnut creek - 30s single. Have a girlfriend that will be moving over within next 9 months though. Moving from NY - westchester. I have limited knowledge of SF and bay area - but heard living in walnut creek a bit pricey and better for married couples ie school systems. Im looking for a place with reasonable commute ~ 20 minutes would be great as i will be working east coast hours. Hoping to find something with good vibe, younger, good town scene. Not a hipster-ish vibe and not really concerned with being downtown SF. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-08-2013, 01:24 PM

18,965 posts, read 32,437,457 times
For a suburb Walnut Creek is actually pretty good for singles and couples. From what I understand the Walnut Creek area is somewhat similar to Westchester County, so if you're looking for a similar environment that may be one of the better places to look. It has a pretty vibrant downtown with nightlife, restaurants, shops, etc.

Oakland and Berkeley, while good choices for younger couples and singles, might be a little too hipsterish for you.

Old 10-08-2013, 03:30 PM

Thank you for your quick reply. Any suggestions of nearby towns with descent restaurant/nightlife i should check out? Rockridge?

Old 10-08-2013, 03:43 PM

343 posts, read 443,001 times