U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Francisco - Oakland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-30-2018, 04:17 PM

6 posts, read 15,542 times

Advertisements

Hi,

Long story short. I am an international student here at UC Berkeley. I have been living here since July 2017.
I've always wondered whether it would be nice to give money to the homeless we see on the streets?

I walk from my apartment to school every day. It just breaks my heart to see these people thrown on the streets. You should be ashamed American.

I've asked many people about this. Some tell me:'' Just forget about it! Homeless people have shelters, but they refuse to go there and want to be on the streets to get high or whatever, and they do get paid from the US government''.

On the other hand, some say shelters cannot take care of all the homeless in the Bay area, please help them! They deserved to be helped.

Of course, sometimes you won't give money to the homeless if you see them are getting high in front of you.

I am confused. If I don't give, I just feel I am being so selfish. They deserve our help.

Thanks.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-30-2018, 04:34 PM

3,958 posts, read 8,093,114 times
I smell a troll.

Old 09-30-2018, 04:41 PM

I am not playing in here. I am asking questions to people that I don't know, what made you think I am trolling here!

Old 09-30-2018, 05:10 PM

1,400 posts, read 956,804 times