U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New Mexico > Santa Fe
 [Register]
Santa Fe Santa Fe County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-21-2015, 09:52 PM

12 posts, read 9,690 times

Advertisements

I'm looking for the right neighborhood for the following situation:

3 BR 2 BA middle-class neighborhood that's been around since the 70s or 80s. The neighborhood has experienced some level of gentrification in the last two decades.

Thoughts?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-23-2015, 10:04 AM

79 posts, read 168,769 times
I am a writer, but I am having trouble understanding just what you are looking for. You plan a novel set in Albuquerque, and need a neighborhood upon which to base the setting?

Like any city, perhaps more than most, Albuquerque offers a very wide range of environments. In the Northeast Heights you will find neighborhoods built in the 70s, but I am not sure that they have "gentrified" -- they have been pretty consistently what they are. One possibility would be around the fairgrounds, and area that has seen its ups and downs.

In the Southeast Heights it's pretty much the same.

Around the University of New Mexico campus are neighborhoods that are on the border between student housing and professor/professional housing. Those neighborhoods swing back and forth. Along Silver SE is an area now gentrified, but those houses are older than the 70s. Ditto the downtown area -- Fruit, other streets. The houses, now upmarket, were built in the early 1900s.