Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area
 [Register]
Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area Manatee and Sarasota Counties
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-17-2021, 07:22 AM

53 posts, read 68,666 times

Advertisements

Hello all, my wife and I are at that "let's get out of upstate NY and into a nicer climate for the retirement" stage and we're considering both SC and Florida. As an accountant, I'm totally into the gathering of way, WAY too much numerical data (taxes, cost of living, etc.) but ran across this site and wondered if I could gather more first hand thoughts. As a little background, we're an upper middle class, relatively active couple, enjoy some culture but enjoy biking, hiking, a day at the beach or an afternoon in front of a barbeque with friends as well. Real estate goal would be a single family or large condo (aiming at maybe 2k sf or so) with a small yard. Suburbs but somewhat close to a large town or city. 30 - 60 minutes to the coast would be preferable. Been looking at 55+ communities for the included maintenance but I also realize that that comes with a cost. Budget might be somewhere in the $300 - $350k range but that could shift up or down as I see what the potential is. Specifically I'm looking at the Bluffton, SC and Sarasota, FL areas to see what potential they might have. Hope that all helps but feel free to ask more if you think it might help.

Hope that's enough to elicit some thoughts - good, bad, indifferent - all thoughts and comments are welcomed. Thanks!