U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area
 [Register]
Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area Manatee and Sarasota Counties
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-12-2008, 04:59 PM

42 posts, read 90,756 times

Advertisements

I'm familiar with the Sarasota area, but not North Port. We're coming down in October to check out North Port for a retirement or second home. I am aware of all of the recent foreclosures. My sister-in-law has a house in Longboat and saw a home on her street that is being auctioned by Us Home auctions.

I have NO knowledge of where to start to educate myself about buying a house at an auction. Was hoping some of you realtors on the board could give my some ideas about where to start and what to watch out for.

Thanks!
Summer
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-12-2008, 05:40 PM

7,484 posts, read 20,863,622 times
I personally think that you can pick up a better home as a foreclosure than at auction. the auctions that I have attended if they are absolute they have lots of issues with the home or they get bid up over what you would pay for a foreclosed home in that area. If they have a reserve it is usually set higher than what you would pay for a foreclosure in the same area.