U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area
 [Register]
Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area Manatee and Sarasota Counties
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-04-2010, 04:03 PM

55 posts, read 123,270 times

Advertisements

I know that in this day and age, very few people, if any, drink tap water that is not filtered, but perhaps a few do. My husband and I have been drinking filtered, spring, and distilled water for many years and we're very careful about the quality of the water we drink. We know that city water is chlorinated and fluoridated and we made a weird discovery. Maybe it's just a coincidence, but it seems that around the same time that Sarasota appears to have gone green, it seemed like the water only smells of chlorine at certain times and it's not very strong. As an asthmatic, I can't stand the smell of chlorine, which is why we use a water filter in our shower. Also, I've read that city water is fluoridated, which I've heard is very toxic. Other than distillation, is there any other way to remove the toxins from the tap water in order to make it safe and drinkable or is filtration the only solution? I find it very frustrating that in this day and age, city water still uses the same archaic systems that they used many years ago. I appreciate all helpful replies. Thank you.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-04-2010, 04:49 PM

66 posts, read 176,389 times
The tap water here is not very good.....

Old 01-04-2010, 08:31 PM

166 posts, read 563,361 times