U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Savannah area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-17-2013, 11:46 AM

1,912 posts, read 2,140,518 times

Advertisements

Just wanted to chime in, Im a 17 year resident of Charleston, and for some reason, never made a weekend trip to visit Savannah despite it being so close. I've heard for years how similar the two cities are, that they are sister cities, etc, etc. I always saw Savannah on the same lists as Charleston (but just below) as top tourist destinations in the US and world.

Well, me and the girlfriend made a 4 day trip, and it was GREAT!!! We stayed at a place off Oglethorpe St, a small vacation rental, and it was very nice. Did all the River Street stuff. The dinner cruise. A few comments:

We ate at two places in particular. Barricuda Bobs, a new place on River St. GREAT tuna tacos.
And the Pirate House for Sunday brunch, which was worth every single penny.

The dinner cruise was OK. Food was average at best, but the people were great. Felt a bit like a tourist trap, which God knows Charleston has plenty of too.

Didn't realize how huge of a presence SCAD has there. Very similar to the College of Charleston campus feel.

Forsyth Park was nice. As were all the mini-parks.

Savannah is MUCH more pedestrian friendly than Charleston. MUCH more. Streets and sidewalks are wider and more level.