U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Savannah area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-18-2009, 12:37 PM

5 posts, read 10,606 times

Advertisements

I am a single parent of a 2 year old and I work as a Nursing Assistant. I am moving to go to school fulltime (hopefully) at either Armstrong or Georgia Southern to finish my BA and be done with cleaning (and getting beat up by) old people forever, but first I must get employment and daycare leads and go from there.

Does anyone recommend a good place to work as a Nursing Assistant? Nursing home or hospital is fine.

And I am looking to find daycare that may have extended hours that takes state assistance.

I am hoping that I can reside on campus with my son and hope they also offer daycare on campus but if not I prefer to get affordable housing as close to campus as possible and maybe work parttime to cover what financial aid wont. Any advice is appreciated.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-22-2009, 12:16 AM

70 posts, read 202,123 times
There is a lot of affordable housing around Georgia Southern and since Statesboro is a college town it does cater to the student population. I think Georgia Southern is a stronger school (although Armstrong is fine too). Not sure about daycares with extended hours but here's a link from the GSU site: Day Care Listing (http://students.georgiasouthern.edu/offcampus/daycare_listings.htm - broken link)

Old 05-22-2009, 03:04 PM

5 posts, read 10,606 times
thats wonderful info. thanks a lot

Old 04-05-2010, 10:58 PM