Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Savannah area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-20-2007, 10:38 PM

6 posts, read 92,844 times

Advertisements

Hi, I am a student from South Florida. I have recently been accepted into the Savannah College of Art and Design and have a few concerns about the city. I have read so many horrible things about the city and really hope somebody who lives there can help shed some light on some of my concerns. I was there for a visit a couple of weeks ago and only was able to stay for two days but I didn't witness any crime like people have spoken about. I was only out at night once but walked around the sqaures during the day with no problems. Crime is my number one concern. I live a fairly nice lifestyle down here in South Florida and am afraid that when I go to school with nice clothes/jewelery/car I will be a big target. I have worked very hard to live the way that I do and am not necessarily flashy with my things but I do not want to lock them up and throw away the key. How bad is the crime really? If I have a job in Savannah and work until say 10 or 11 at night am I going to have a problem walking to my car to go home from work? I have heard that most people who are mugged, etc, etc are people walking about at night drunk at 3 am. I am not one to go and do that but I do not want to be afraid lets say to drive up to the coffee shop park my car and go grab a cup of coffee and come back to find my car stolen or maybe even get mugged on my way into the coffee shop. Going to the school is an amazing oppur