U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Washington > Seattle area
 [Register]
Seattle area Seattle and King County Suburbs
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-06-2010, 11:01 PM

16 posts, read 25,309 times

Advertisements

First off, this website is amazing. I am glad that I stumbled upon it. Best resource on the internet for relocating if you ask me.

I am finishing my residency at the Topeka, KS - VA Hospital. I am a clinical social worker. My wife is a first year band director that absolutely loves and is obsessed with large marching band and excellent music band programs (she was drum major in a college marching band). We are young, and driven individuals. I am 26, and I am a Disabled Veteran. I plan on working within the VA Hospital system, and it helps to be close to one for my healthcare as well.

My wife and I are foodies (we love fine dining and exotic seafoods), and we love art, music, theater, and hiking. All of this which Topeka, KS, and the whole state for that matter has none of. We are absolutely sick of the 100 plus degree days, the killer humidity in Kansas, and the blistering winters. I have the following questions.

1. What is the middle school/high school marching bands in the Seattle/Tacoma and other suburbs like? How big? Competetive?

2. What is the VA Hospital in Seattle like? Level and quality of care?

3. I could work at Ft. Lewis for the Army as a social worker, what would be the best/most affordable suburb between Ft. Lewis and Seattle? My starting salary would probably be around $52,000 and I also get $1330 a month tax free for the rest of my life (VA Disability)