U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Washington > Seattle area
 [Register]
Seattle area Seattle and King County Suburbs
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-17-2012, 09:49 AM

4,942 posts, read 5,667,552 times

Advertisements

Hello, I'm a 32 year old single male. No kids. I work in IT, and I do mostly contract work. My latest contract will be in Seattle which will last about a year. I have lived in the Atlanta area uninterrupted for almost 20 years. This will be my first time spending any length of time outside of Atlanta.

I just wanted to know some things about the city.

Is Seattle "bigger" than Atlanta? I know it has a smaller population, but does the city "feel" big or small.

I'll be living in Bothell. In Atlanta we have a lot of annexed cities and counties which make up the Metro area. Is Seattle similar? Do surrounding suburbs function indepedent of the City of Seattle? In Atlanta certain cities and counties have almost nothing to do with Atlanta despite it being in the Metro area.

How is public transportation? I won't be having a car for my first few months here. Is it better than worse than Atlanta (hopefully better). Is Seattle a "need a car" city like Atlanta?

Just how far is Bothell from Seattle?

I see Sound Transit System and Kings County Transit. I haven't really seen a website explain the differences. Which one serve Bothell?

Are people in Seattle like the typical West Coast people stereotype?