Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Washington > Seattle area
 [Register]
Seattle area Seattle and King County Suburbs
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-14-2013, 08:39 AM

6 posts, read 16,426 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I'm a recent college grad (May 2012) and I studied in Worcester, MA, an hour away from Boston (although I usually frequent Boston and NYC since I am a hardcore urbanite). Since January, I have been doing an internship at a start-up in Cambridge, but I just got an offer from a company that has two offices: Fitchburg, MA (meh) and Seattle.

Initially, it looked like I would have to work in Fitchburg and that was a big deal-breaker for me, as I could not live in a city (Boston) and commute there since its too far away. However, the company has recently told me that a relocation to Seattle could be possible, so if this works out, it would be the obvious choice to take (the other one being to stay at the internship).

I have a couple of questions about potentially moving to Seattle. I am in 23 years old international student, single and looking to have a great experience in a new city.

- After extensive Google searches, it seems that Seattle is kind of comparable to Boston in terms of size, amenities, nightlife. My ideal city in the US is NYC, I would live there in a heartbeat if I could but I did not study the ideal major. However, Boston is still fun, and if Seattle is like this, then I do not anticipate any issues. Do people think that Boston and Seattle are in the same "category" (if you will)?