Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Washington > Seattle area
 [Register]
Seattle area Seattle and King County Suburbs
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-11-2007, 06:59 PM

1 posts, read 4,903 times

Advertisements

Ok, that is a cheap way to start. I am a gay East coaster here, Pgh and NYC. Love them both dearly but want to be somewhere where my day doesnt start at 8 and end at 8. Not a party boy, just a gay American. Tired of the MOVE GO FASTER QUICK QUICK QUICK mentality. love the west coast. I like biggish cities that act small. I am an interior designer with my M.S. - have done big fashion stores and homeless shelters alike. design for the masses! anyhoo, I need to learn more. Please, my fellow citizens, diga me! tell me all about the job market, the neighborhoods, the vibe. I appreciate, and send good energy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-12-2007, 06:49 AM

291 posts, read 711,089 times
Seattle has its share of urban energy, that's for sure. But it's also an place to be comfortably laid-back, if you prefer.
Portland has more the "biggish city that acts small" atmosphere. It's more walkable, bikable, its neighborhoods have more character. Economy is relatively good now, but Seattle's is, and has long been, stronger.
I'd think you'd like both, and have zero problems in either.

Old 01-12-2007, 06:46 PM

46 posts, read 372,005 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by RodFarlee View Post