U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Louisiana > Shreveport-Bossier City
 [Register]
Shreveport-Bossier City Bossier Parish, Caddo Parish, De Soto Parish
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-22-2011, 02:25 PM

2 posts, read 4,300 times

Advertisements

Hi!
My husband is applying to medical school soon and assuming he gets in we will probably have to move to Shreveport. I am a teacher and would prefer to teach in a private school. I would also prefer to buy a house rather than rent. However, teachers don't make much and neither do med students! Can anyone give me information on schools in the area and affordable yet safe areas to live? Thanks everyone!

PS
I'm sure it sounds like wishful thinking that he will get in but he has a scholarship that should make it a lot easier.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-07-2011, 02:47 PM

19 posts, read 34,124 times
I don't know much about the schools in Shreveport bc my children were too young. But we lived in Shreveport near I-20 and I-220 and my husband's commute to LSUS HSC was pretty smooth. We really liked the area over there and felt safe. I worked in south Shreveport and my commute was fine too.

Old 04-10-2011, 12:22 PM

34 posts, read 75,296 times
There are a lot of great places to ive in SBC, and you are definitely thinking correctly about owning a home and not renting. What kind of price range would you be looking for?

Old 05-03-2011, 08:38 AM

2 posts, read 4,300 times