Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Sports
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 10-12-2023, 11:53 AM
 
Location: Here
2,301 posts, read 2,030,114 times
Reputation: 1712

Advertisements

This is one that came up out on the course...

A player drives on to the fairway. His second shot goes off into the rough. Is he allowed to take a penalty stoke and hit his third shot, his fourth stroke, from the position on the fairway where he drove his ball (where he took his second shot)?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-12-2023, 01:36 PM
 
Location: Eastern Tennessee
4,383 posts, read 4,359,139 times
Reputation: 12669
Quote:
Originally Posted by GalileoSmith View Post
This is one that came up out on the course...

A player drives on to the fairway. His second shot goes off into the rough. Is he allowed to take a penalty stoke and hit his third shot, his fourth stroke, from the position on the fairway where he drove his ball (where he took his second shot)?
Yes. He can hit a provisional shot from there and then go see if he can find his ball in the rough and decide if he would rather play it from where it lies.
If he plays the provisional ball there is the 1 additional stroke for the 'drop'.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-01-2023, 12:22 PM
 
Location: Kernersville, NC
60 posts, read 35,217 times
Reputation: 203
No, he can't do any of that.


A provisional ball is only in play if your original ball is out of bounds or lost.


You can't just 'not like' where your ball is and take a penalty shot and hit another one.


When the player gets to where his second shot landed and declares it 'unplayable', he can drop it within 2 club lengths with a 1 stroke penalty, but, simply being in the rough does not make it unplayable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-01-2023, 01:19 PM
 
Location: The DMV
6,576 posts, read 11,253,831 times
Reputation: 8624
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob NC View Post
No, he can't do any of that.


A provisional ball is only in play if your original ball is out of bounds or lost.


You can't just 'not like' where your ball is and take a penalty shot and hit another one.


When the player gets to where his second shot landed and declares it 'unplayable', he can drop it within 2 club lengths with a 1 stroke penalty, but, simply being in the rough does not make it unplayable.
You absolutely can.

It's called unplayable lie. Which is determined by the player and the player alone. He/she can declare any ball to be unplayable and follow the unplayable rules from there. You can re-hit from the original spot, take a drop within two-club length of where the ball lies, or you can take the ball back as far as you want on the line drawn from the hole through where your ball landed. All of these incurs a one stroke penalty.

The exception to that is if the ball is hit into a penalty area. You have to follow the penalty rule for that area. Also - if your ball is in a bunker, you cannot take the 2-club drop outside of the bunker. You can, however, go back on the line and drop it with a 2 stroke penalty.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-01-2023, 01:43 PM
 
Location: Eastern Tennessee
4,383 posts, read 4,359,139 times
Reputation: 12669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob NC View Post
No, he can't do any of that.


A provisional ball is only in play if your original ball is out of bounds or lost.


You can't just 'not like' where your ball is and take a penalty shot and hit another one.


When the player gets to where his second shot landed and declares it 'unplayable', he can drop it within 2 club lengths with a 1 stroke penalty, but, simply being in the rough does not make it unplayable.
Yes he can. Look up rule 18.3
The ball hit into the rough may not be findable. People hit provisional balls in this scenario quite often.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-02-2023, 05:54 AM
 
Location: The DMV
6,576 posts, read 11,253,831 times
Reputation: 8624
Quote:
Originally Posted by grampaTom View Post
Yes he can. Look up rule 18.3
The ball hit into the rough may not be findable. People hit provisional balls in this scenario quite often.
The OP was asking about unplayable vs. lost ball/OB.

Provisional is usually a time saving measure, if you think you hit one OB** or deep into the woods where you may not find it. You just reload to save yourself the "walk of shame" of having to go back to the original spot to rehit.

In the OP's case, your ball was never lost... you simply don't think you can hit it as it lies. You declare it unplayable and follow the appropriate rule from there.

** The group of new rules a few years back included one where OB can be dropped in the fairway on a perpendicular line to where it went out (2 stroke penalty). This is actually a local rule, so it would only apply if the course allows it. For our weekend rounds, we've "self-adopted" it for time savings.

This is a great change, IMO. OB never made sense for non-competitive rounds. Just make it a hazard or environmental if it's marking a border to people's yards or places you don't want people trampling through/playing out of.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old Yesterday, 11:25 PM
 
21 posts
Reputation: 12
Yes of course you can but it would be dumb. You can take an unplayable lie from anywhere you say it is unplayable. There are no conditions that have to be met.

A player could pick up their ball and drop it no closer to the hole and could go back in line with the pin as far back as they wanted. He/she would be hitting 3 and not 2 so it would make very little sense for them to do so unless the lie was literally unplayable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Sports
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2024, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top