Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri > Springfield - Branson area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-19-2006, 10:28 PM

5 posts, read 11,664 times

Advertisements

I am a professional moving back to southwest MO, having grown up in Mt. Vernon, and lived in the 70s and early 80s. I have visited the area every year since I left and I am now returning to be near family again -- Dad is 86 and ill, Mom is 83 and I have no siblings, so here I come -- currently reside in AZ, near Mesa, but I am in MO now and plan to stay until sometime in January.

I figure Springfield would be the most likely city for me to find employment, but do need to stay within an hour of Mt. Vernon. I need to find a short term rental so I can re-learn the area, job hunt and when I find employment, move closer to work in a longer term rental. I am expecting housing prices to stay where they are or perhaps drop a bit, so I am not too concerned about putting money into a rental for 6 months or so. Can anyone suggest a quiet, safe, furnished, non-smoking place that offers short term rentals? When I lived here before, I was attacked by a man in my own back yard, so security is important to me.