Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri > St. Louis
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-04-2018, 04:51 AM

3 posts, read 2,140 times

Advertisements

Greetings everyone! I am a California native who has been planning, for a very long time, to relocate to the St. Louis area in order to be (relatively) closer to my retired parents in Arkansas. A few years ago, I was fortunate enough to spend a week in St. Louis and loved every minute!

I earned my Masters in Social Work a few years ago and am currently working in a private practice under the supervision of a Licensed Clinical Social Work. Prior to this gig, I was a Clinical Program Manager at a group home.

Aside from wanting to be closer to my aging parents, I DESPERATELY want to leave California for a number of reasons (absurd cost of living, traffic, taxes, desire to own a home without selling a kidney, etc.). My spouse and I have found it difficult to keep more than a few thousand bucks in savings, therefore we wouldn't be able to just pull up stakes and move without a job lined up. My main problem is this: I have no promising job leads/contacts in the St. Louis area. Believe me, I've asked around and no one I know seems to know anyone in this region. Without those contacts, I'm afraid I'll be stuck living (i.e. renting ) in a depressing central valley town...indefinitely.