Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri > St. Louis
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-15-2020, 06:52 PM

2 posts, read 1,624 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone,

I graduated from WashU with a Mechanical Engineering Degree in 2018 and got a great job offer as a Flight Test Engineer in Huntsville, AL. I accepted the offer based on purely logical reasons (cheap COL, decent salary, sounded like a fun job experience). However, I think from the very beginning my heart was not all in it. There are so many things I loved about St. Louis, but the biggest is that I had made some great friends in there and it was very painful leaving them behind. Nowadays, each and every time I visit them I have the strong desire to move back. I have yet to find a group of friends as down to earth as those I met in STL. It would be a very easy decision for me, except that I can't imagine finding a more low-stress and fun work environment than the job I currently have in Huntsville. All my coworkers are great and the job itself is fun and unique. The most comparable jobs in STL would be something at Boeing, but I have heard some pretty bad stories of people working at these larger type companies. At the same time, I realize engineers need to move around in order to really get major salary increases.

In an effort to try and help me through this decision, I have made a pros list of each city. I was hoping I could get some advice from anyone who has any input whatsoever.

Pros of moving to St. Louis:
- Be with an established friend group who I love
- Bigger city with more to do