U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri > St. Louis
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-29-2009, 05:25 PM

2 posts, read 3,079 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone,

I am a student who will have two weekend days in your city and am looking for some general advice about what to see and where to go. First, I will not have a car. Is there a good bus system, or do you recommend renting a bike? What sites are most worth visiting (besides the arch of course, that's just a given)? Are there old forts, nice parks or hiking without needing a car to reach, or interesting historical sites or museums? Is it worth going up to Hannibal to see the Mark Twain memorabilia, and if so, is there any good way to travel there? Also, what parts of the city should I avoid (I'll be on my own)? Again, keep in mind that I am just a student with limited income.

Thanks for the help!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-29-2009, 05:44 PM

4,051 posts, read 7,865,413 times
I love the art museum. It's free. Saint Louis Art Museum: Home (http://www.slam.org/index.aspx?id=1 - broken link)

Old 03-29-2009, 09:24 PM

1,117 posts, read 2,813,608 times
I would try the Anheuser Busch brewery, zoo, art museum which are all free. You may also want to look into the city museum downtown which is really a blast.

Old 03-29-2009, 10:56 PM

1,859 posts, read 5,570,537 times