U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tallahassee
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-07-2011, 08:35 AM

3 posts, read 8,476 times

Advertisements

Hi everybody

My name is Elio and I'm a 25 years old Italian student. I graduated in FOreign Languages and Literatures at the University of Florence, Italy. I've always lived in Florence http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Florence .I've been to most parts of Europe and spent two entire summers in UK and Spain (those were the longst abroad experience I've had). I studied English, Spanish and French. During my University career I've been working at Pepperdine University (Malibu,CA but has some abroad programs like the one in Florence I work for) as a tour guide, dishwasher, and most recently as an Italian language tutor. My objective is to become an Italian teacher. That's why, thanks to Pepperdine FLorence Director, I've got in touch with FSU Modern Languages Dept. So I decided to apply at FSU, for the Italian Studies graduate program and I managed to get a Teaching Assistanship, starting from August 29th 2011 that will provide me with a tuition waiver covering fees, plus I'll get $11,100.
Then I guess this makes me a future Tallahassee citizen

Why am I doing this?

Because I've always studied the English language, and I like to study and improve it as my second language. I like the American culture (due to my job at Pepperdine I got to know American people). I wanna live outside Italy for a while, and MOST OF ALL, I wanna pursue the Italian teacher career.

So be it!