U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tallahassee
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-18-2015, 11:02 AM

1 posts, read 936 times

Advertisements

Hello! I am currently a college student and I was living in an apartment complex that was tailored for students.
I moved out in the beginning of may but my lease was through july and I intended on paying it monthly. I am a responsible person but unfortunately life happened and it was hard for me to scrape up june's rent. Now the policy stated (as it states on the contract) that a late fee ($75) would not be charged until the 5th of the month. When I called to pay my rent on the fourth of june, they told me they changed this policy and that late fees are now added to the account on the fourth.

I could not afford the extra late fee as I barely had enough money for rent.

There is never a manager available when I call and they said sorry there is nothing they can do.

So I worked my a$$ off for the next few weeks at a new job to make rent (My first paycheck would not be for a few weeks after.)

I finally scrape up enough money to pay all of the rent and late fees for june and also paid july rent on time (through the mail as I no longer live in tallahassee and can never get a hold of a manager).

And over a week later they send me an email saying I owe 200 dollars for a court collection fee and they will not take my rent payments as they do not include this fee. Also, they said late fees for july will continue to accrue.

I just can afford the extra 300 dollars they are asking for.