U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tallahassee
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-27-2008, 04:22 PM

3 posts, read 7,606 times

Advertisements

Hey all,
I am a college student and have the opportunity to transfer to FSU from the bay area here in California, but don't know if it would be worth it. I have family in Tallahassee and have visited frequently when I was young, but my wife hasn't. We're a young couple, and not looking to move there long term, only until I finish my schooling.

My wife is Mexican and i'm black, so how are interracial relationships treated down there? Other than blacks and whites, how diverse is it?

Other than the malls and movie theaters and museums, what other type of entertainment happens down there?

Is there a lot of discrimination? From what I remember, the town was pretty segregated, so is it still like that?

Any other information that would help us make a decision would be great!

It's either move to Tallahassee or Austin, Texas to go to University of Texas!

Thanks in advance
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-27-2008, 05:59 PM

894 posts, read 4,151,619 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by brendyn74 View Post
Hey all,
I am a college student and have the opportunity to transfer to FSU from the bay area here in California, but don't know if it would be worth it. I have family in Tallahassee and have visited frequently when I was young, but my wife hasn't. We're a young couple, and not looking to move there long term, only until I finish my schooling.