U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tampa Bay
 [Register]
Tampa Bay Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-04-2010, 02:57 PM

25 posts, read 50,251 times

Advertisements

Like everyone else, I am wondering what is the best part of the Tampa area for what is important to me. I am a professional, 35, SWF. I don't necessarily want to be in suburban neighborhood where it is family after family in houses. But I don't need to be close to the bars and the 'singles scene'. Just an area that is affordable, clean, safe. You know, the basics. I would like to be reasonably close to water (other than a pool, ha ha) - like perhaps 30 min or less to the beach. I am looking to rent at first and then buy after I get more familiarized with the area. But I'd like opinions on a good starting place. I can do about $1000/mo in rent/mortgage. I have a work-from-home job so commute is not a factor. I am planning on moving next spring. Thanks in advance for everyone's opinions and help!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-04-2010, 03:25 PM

22,465 posts, read 33,321,908 times
Proximity to the beach would point you toward Pinellas County, otherwise crossing a bridge from Hillsborough County (Tampa area) makes for a long trek to the beach. For $1000 a month you would get a number of decent choices. In terms of being close to other young single adults, in a safe area, and being not so much in suburbia, consider Feather Sound in SE Clearwater or the Gateway area in NE St Petersburg.

Old 09-04-2010, 04:37 PM