U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tampa Bay
 [Register]
Tampa Bay Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-04-2011, 01:43 PM

53 posts, read 86,640 times

Advertisements

Well... retirement is here, finally, and we have been talking about retiring to FL for a while. We are in our early 40s, with three children- 1 elementary, 2 middle school.

Where is your employment and the hours you will be working.

We will have a solid pension. No jobs lined up but I am a nurse, so eventually I can do that. No rush.

What is your budget for housing. Do you want to rent or buy?

We would like to buy, but would rent first if necessary. We definitely want waterfront, gulf access. Budget under 400. Low 3's would be great.

I just need to know WHERE I'm going! Trying to settle on an area.

Are schools a concern?

YES! And yes, I do know that Florida schools are overall poor. But I refuse to believe that its impossible to get a good education anywhere here! We originally looked at Longboat Key. Visited in July- LOVED it. But even with lower house prices, it's just too much. I don't want to be in a cardboard box.

Next I looked into Cape Coral. Affordable waterfront properties for sure, seems like a nice community. Schools are pretty scary, according the forums, and have my stomach churning, literally. With School Choice in Lee County- it's is a gamble. (Is this a FL thing or a Lee Cty thing?)

Back when we investigated Sarasota Schools, we were pleased.

How are Tampa schools??? This is the input I am really looking for.

What else is important to you?